Call for Nominations: 2011 Outstanding Philanthropists Awards


View Award Criteria and download the Nomination form at

All nominations MUST be received by Friday, September 30, 2011.

The Association of Fund Raising Professionals (AFP) Northeast Indiana Chapter is issuing a Call for Nominations for the 2011 Outstanding Philanthropist Awards, which honor the compassion and generosity of individuals and organizations whose giving hearts and gifts of time, expertise, resources, and leadership have made Northeast Indiana a great place to live. In the past seven years, AFP has had the honor of presenting the Outstanding Philanthropist Awards to some amazing individuals and organizations.

In 2010, the Outstanding Philanthropist Award winners were:

Taylor Reuille who, at the age of 11, began a quest to bring a Boundless Playground to the Fort Wayne community so children of all abilities and disabilities would have a place to play together;

Jerry Fox, whose philanthropic leadership led to the construction of the Memorial Baseball Stadium, which brought minor league baseball to the city, and the establishment of the Lifetime Sports Academy;

Lincoln Financial Corporation, which gives to myriad of causes including services for children and aging adults, healthcare, literacy training, childcare, prevention of abuse and violence, and emergency shelters;

and Madeleine Baker, the executive director at Early Childhood Alliance, who has ably advanced the mission of building better futures for young children in the Fort Wayne Community.

These are just four of the many stories AFP has to share about the organizations and individuals who have received an Outstanding Philanthropist Award in the past seven years. All of them underscore the spirit of philanthropy and the passion of those dedicated to the noble cause of giving.

Nominations for the 2011 Outstanding Philanthropist Awards are being solicited from Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, and Whitley counties for individuals and organizations who have contributed to the betterment of the world we live in. Awards will be presented in four categories:

· Outstanding Business or Corporate Philanthropist

· Outstanding Youth Philanthropist (5-17 years)

· Outstanding Individual, Couple, or Family Philanthropist

· Outstanding Nonprofit Leader/Fundraising Professional

View Award Criteria and download the Nomination form at

All nominations MUST be received by Friday, September 30, 2011.

Contact: Jeri Rusk, 260-484-9336 x 230 or

* * *

The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Northeast Indiana Chapter’s current membership roster lists 60+ local fundraising professionals who represent over 40 charitable nonprofit organizations. These professionals work to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education, certification programs, and the promotion of high ethical standards. For more information visit or contact Barbara Jones AFP Northeast Indiana Chapter president at or 260-480-2017.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s